As the Therapeutic Toys Turn…

14 02 2011

It’s been a while since we’ve gotten into one of the greatest reasons imaginable to work with children. Is it their laughter? The hope you can see in their eyes? The possibility of having an impact on their future?

I guess. But mostly it’s the toys.

Just a multi-ethnic gathering of friends.

Remember wondering what your toys got up to, back when you were a kid? Clearly they lived their own lives, and carried on relationships and dramas once you left the room. (I might have just recently watched Toy Story 3.) I think therapeutic toys would be even more interesting to watch.

The child figurines carry the burden of helping actual children to work through their issues fairly well.

Well, this is going to be an investigation. How did this baby’s arm get so unnaturally twisted? And also get fused to a ball? I’d say we’re looking at neglect, at a minimum.

This is just a kid in an awesome duck sweater. Nothing to discuss, unless anyone knows where I can get that in an adult size.

The adults get a little more difficult to control.

Ugh, Tom, always trying to show off the intellect. You know that’s actually a Dan Brown novel, wrapped in a “War and Peace” book jacket.

All right, bringing back the preppy look, I can get into that, and OH MY GOD WHAT HAPPENED TO YOUR EYEBROWS?!

OK, just act cool. Sophia may look harmless, but purple and coral? They’re actually gang colors. She’s a member of the Stewarts, I’m afraid.

Seriously, Chester?! Chester is supposed to be…on sabbatical. Whatever, as long as he doesn’t try to volunteer in the day care again, we’re cool.

Um, hey Linda. Nice purse. But maybe try something a little more current? H&M has very reasonable OH MY GOD YOUR MOTHER DID YOUR EYEBROWS, DIDN’T SHE?

Hey, that’s nice, Joey’s mom is getting involved in his scout troop! What’s that? This is just her outfit? Oh, dear…

The single raised eyebrow says, “I’ve got a secret.” That along with the suspicious package puts Grandma Sylvia right on the no-fly list.

Seriously, someone please take me to this badass sweater store!

And so ends another saga in the lives of our toys. Tune in next week for answers to your burning questions: Why is Grandma Sylvia taking flying lessons? Does Sophia mean it when she says she’ll, “cut a bitch?” Will SocialJerk get a new sweater? Did…Chester, that’s it, I’m calling your parole officer!

Actions

Information

15 responses

14 02 2011
Social over worker

very good ๐Ÿ˜‰ hahaha

I use Sylvanian Families and a Caesarian section cuddly pig. ๐Ÿ™‚

14 02 2011
socialjerk

A C-section cuddly pig?! I am seriously jealous.

I’m also a little embarrassed, as I just burst out laughing in a school office ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh well, this is what happens when I have to wait.

14 02 2011
Dr. Mom

You are too much. Once again, Social Jerk made me laugh out loud.

14 02 2011
socialjerk

There was an lol? Goal achieved! And it was definitely “laughing out loud” not “lots of love?”

14 02 2011
Dr. Mom

both

14 02 2011
Nectarine

What a great post! Mind if I like to it?
I hope you made all those toys sign confidentiality agreements.

14 02 2011
socialjerk

Thank you! You are definitely welcome to link to it. (Or like. But I’m pretty sure it was link ๐Ÿ™‚ )

I got releases signed by all toys that I was not too afraid to get close to.

14 02 2011
jontybabe

Hilarious!!!! I have freaky looking finger puppets!!! But your toys are way weirder!

14 02 2011
socialjerk

Thanks! And our puppets are even scarier than these guys. I don’t use them, because I only see two possible outcomes: 1. Kids are so distracted we get nothing done in session, or 2. Kids cry in terror. (Perhaps I should add 3. SocialJerk cries and frightens the children.)

14 02 2011
Socialwrkr24/7

LOL!!! Ok, I am not sure whether or not to be disturbed… or jealous that you seem to have so much time on your hands! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Either way – I love this post!

14 02 2011
socialjerk

Thanks! In my defense, I took the pictures during group supervision and wrote the entry that night. We use the figurines in staff meeting to represent the family that is being presented. Seriously. The thought of this post kept me going ๐Ÿ™‚

15 02 2011
senses « mel’s skim cap

[…] enjoyed reading this post. social work ← that same vicious cycle continues LikeBe the first to like this […]

19 02 2011
Weekend Links 6 | Fighting Monsters

[…] SocialJerk deconstructs some of the toys she (um.. her clients?) use. Fantastic stuff. I quite like stuffed animals myself but they might not demonstrate some of the โ€˜interactionsโ€™ as well and anyway, Iโ€™m not the best at passing toy judgement! […]

2 03 2012
swgrrl78

This was so g.d. hilarious I had to finish reading this blog at home. I tried three different times to read it without laughing like a maniac in my “cubicle”,and failed miserably. I was laughing so hard I had tears in my eyes. My co-workers are all medical providers and already seem to find me a little challenging to relate to so they may not have found it quite as amusing. That’s alright though it was brilliant to me…

5 03 2012
socialjerk

Sweet! Thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

