Potent Quotables

23 08 2012

I’ve been a bit inexplicably down about work lately. I’m not sure what it is. I mean, it’s almost September, which means lots of lovely new school supplies. New packs of pencils and unblemished notebooks always make me feel better! And we just had a kickass picnic for our families, complete with a water balloon fight. (Note: if you’re going to challenge a coworker, maybe don’t pick the guy who runs marathons for fun. That was my fatal error.)

But my director has been on my case. Some cases have been extra frustrating. Sorting out LCSW hours is something that should be very simple and straightforward and yet it makes me want to drown things.

It’s no secret that I flipping hate inspirational quotes. Just because something is a highly rebloggable meme doesn’t mean that it’s something to live your life by. A lot of them admonish me to put my life in the hands of god or the universe, which I don’t care for. And some of them are just kind of offensive. Or stupid.

Sometimes, though, I need a little inspiration. Don’t we all?

We accept the love we think we deserve.” – Stephen Chbosky, the Perks of Being a Wallflower.

The book that restored 1999 SJ’s will to live. Because yes. It’s true. And it reminds you to keep your empathy up when a client sheepishly tells you she’s going back to the man who beat her.

There isn’t anyone you couldn’t love once you’ve heard their story.” -Mary Lou Kownacki.

Courtesy of my good friend Process, Recorded. It pretty much sums up our entire field. And keeps me from smacking people on the subway.

A person’s a person no matter how small.” -Dr. Seuss.

For one, he told anyone trying to use this as an anti-choice slogan to fuck off. That makes me love it a whole lot. It also fits nicely into our work. Little kids deserve to be listened to. So do people with no money, or addictions, or disabilities. We’re all people.

To know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.” Ralph Waldo Emerson.

The quotiest of my quotes. But it’s also our goal. Did I help someone? A little? Not “did I change their life? Pay their way through college? Buy them a house?” Just help them breathe easier. Often that’s all we can do.

The baby bat
Screamed out in fright,
‘Turn on the dark,
I’m afraid of the light.’”

-Shel Silverstein

Everyone’s different, and sometimes we have to suspend judgment. Getting into someone else’s shoes for a minute can make all the difference.

In this life, all things are possible.

This was from a woman I met in Ecuador, who lived in poverty that went beyond the extreme. She was talking about how she had learned to speak English. I’ve never been quite so humbled.

Unless someone like you cares a whole awful lot, it’s not going to get any better. It’s not.” – Dr. Seuss, again.

Hey, he’s a smart man. This one is also pretty cliche, but I like it because it puts the pressure on. Get to work, people. Caring but not doing isn’t really caring. It’s like when we tell kids “if you were really sorry, you wouldn’t do it anymore.” If you care, you act. And if you don’t, things stay just as they are.

I like impossible. ” -Doctor Who.

If I didn’t like impossible, I’d have packed it in to be a Starbucks barista long ago.

If all else fails, and you’re still feeling down, this is to be brought out in emergencies.

This was the song of the summer, not “Call Me Maybe.” (In certain circles, anyway.) I wouldn’t quite say it’s inspirational, but it helps. You can’t still be sad after this. That’s not how it works. Sometimes, you just need a smoke machine and some heels.

Bid adieu to your ennui, social workers.

Actions

Information

8 responses

23 08 2012
Klown Kollege is looming....

So much win!
What are your thoughts on the Perks movie w/Emma Watson?

23 08 2012
socialjerk

Thank you! And oh my god so glad you asked. I will watch pretty much anything featuring Hermione. I’m excited for the movie. It doesn’t looked quite how I pictured, but I love the cast (Ezra Miller and Paul Rudd are also a dream come true.) I’ll probably quibble over little changes they’ll inevitably make, but I think it can be good. You?

24 08 2012
Klown Kollege is looming....

I would watch anything with Emma Watson. I think it might be ok, but I’m not sure if kids today can relate to Perks.

23 08 2012
carolynsocialworker

Well, if that video didn’t do it, I don’t know what would! I think all social workers should have a kiki!

24 08 2012
emaufmuth

I couldn’t agree with you more. I hate those corporate motivation posters. Thus my entertainment by this site: http://www.despair.com/mercy.html

Although your quotes seem more humane and realistic. I plan on sharing them with co-irkers and quoting your site. I am spreading the socialjerk gospel.

26 08 2012
Kelly

i always use ‘be the change you wish to see in the world’ gandhi’. thank you for introducing me to the kiki. i am going to try to bring it on the west coast because it is fabulous.

28 08 2012
rebecca

for some reason you turning to inspirational quotes reminds me of the time i was so broken i decided to read “Eat, Pray, Love” (fortunately I only made it through ‘Eat’). it’s funny how our city smugness peels down when life is sucking.

I CAN’T BELIEVE I DIDN’T KNOW THIS SCISSOR SISTER SONG. Spotify, here i come.

Stay strong! Or some other shallow saying of encouragement!

29 08 2012
socialjerk

Oh my god, If you ever see me with a copy of Eat, Pray, Love, it is definitely time for an intervention. (Though “Eat” definitely sounds like the best part.)

My summer would have been so much quieter without this song. It’s just, instant gay bar. You know, if that’s something you need sometimes.

Earlier today my supervisor announced that she was going to actually take lunch, and that she was going to “lock the door and have a party.” I started laughing and explained the whole Kiki thing, a minute later she was walking the halls yelling, “We’re having a Kiki! Someone bring the smoke machine!” Ah, work.

Leave a Reply

